House to rent

WARNING!!! Message like this is fake and fraud.
I was on private property and left my details for agents or home owners to contact me about to let homes. This guy e-mailed me a couple of days later and when I searched for it on Google I found exactly the same message as the one below and it was reported as a scam. Please be careful, he demands money eventually but luckily I didn't fall for it.
The SCAM message follows:
I am Paul Light and I just received an email of interest in myapartment. I am an English researcher working for a pharmaceuticalcompany and this apartment was bought while working here in SouthAfrica on a 5 year contract, as I thought it would be a betterinvestment than renting. I am the only owner of the apartment, it ispaid in full and it has no legal problems . The apartment has not beeninhabited since I am no longer living in South Africa.I wish to rent my apartment to some nice and responsible people and inorder to do that I have to know a some details about you, like howmany persons are you planning to live in the apartment, for how long,if you have a steady income, etc. I must tell you from the beginningthat I do not have a problem if you are a student and I am very fondof pets and willing to accept them in the apartment(I am the proudowner of an English bulldog). You should also know that I appreciatesincerity very much.In addition to everything else here is a little something about theapartment and myself so we can get to know each other.The apartment is the one in the pictures from the advertisement.I havethe option of sending all my furniture into storage if you want tobring your own (no extra costs)The rent for 1 month is 4400 ZAR (for the entire apartment) includingall utilities (water, electricity, Internet, cable). You can rent theflat for any period of time (open end contract) but not less than 3months.About myself, I am 42 years and as I told you I am a researcher inpharmaceutical products, currently living in London, my home town .You can move in the apartment in the same day when you receive thekeys. The only issue is that I am already in United Kingdom but I hopethat together we are going to find a solution.I appreciate your interest in my property and I am looking forward toa future collaboration and friendship.Best regards,Paul Light''\

Report ID: 3200
Crime Category: Fraud
Province: Gauteng
Suburb: Centurion
Address: N/A
Crime Date/Time: 8 Feb 2013, 00:02 AM
Reported By: Username3200
Reported Date: 8 Feb 2013, 23:02 PM
Related Link:

Join the conversation

  • Allistair 12 Jul 2013, 12:14 PM

    Just received correspondence from the guy today, similar story for property in Cape Town. For its location the price seemed too good to be true so I googled him and landed here. He has a nice story though even attached a picture of him and his daughter hehe

  • Siya4 17 May 2013, 05:02 PM

    Its amazing this guy is still at it and I almos t fell victim of his scam just last night. I also received the same emails and today he emailed suing he is going to cancl the transaction. I hv told him to first send the lease agreement and keys and I said I am aware that they are scamming people!

  • Kay Kay 10 May 2013, 03:21 PM

    My word!!!!! I just received the exact same correspondence from this Paul Light!!!! He should be locked up!!!!... it is actually disgusting. When I read his email same time I googled it because it sounded fishy and this is what I found- THANKS!....Hhahahahaha R4200 for a beautiful Townhouse including utilities- Who in this day and age pays that price. #SWINE!

  • Sabbs 12 Mar 2013, 07:16 PM

    I'm playing along with Mr. Paul Light to see how far he goes. Just got this one from him. I really hope he hasn't actually successfully scammed anyone. Latest reply, RE: Your Property Sandton, 19 Morningside Ref RR606546 Hello , Thanks for your reply, That sounds great ! You seem to be a very nice person and I can assure you we will not have any problems .Like I have inform you before, the price you shall pay for 1 month of rent will be 4700 ZAR and i want also one month guarantee deposit 4700 ZAR ( the guarantee deposit 4700 ZAR you will receive back when you leave the apartment ), with no extra taxes to pay. The money, I want to revive it monthly to my bank account, so I hope it will be no problem for you to wire the money . Of course you will have to see the apartment before discussing further details . I am willing to send you the keys so you can visit it and see it suits your needs.The delivery for the keys and viewing permit (signed by me), will be made with WorldWide Moving to make sure that we can trust each other. I will explain the procedure if you are interested so please email me as soon as you read this message because I really need to take care of this matter. Regards Paul Light

  • VIN 12 Mar 2013, 07:41 AM

    This guy tried the same scam with my daughter and wanted her to deposit 8800ZAR to worlwide movers before she got the keys to view the apartment in Randburgh.she found the advert through a property agency.

  • chancelia 1 Mar 2013, 08:57 AM

    I have also receive the same message for a flat in town bit he just changes the price of the flat Thank a lot

  • Username3217 13 Feb 2013, 10:09 AM

    i also received the same message but with a different name, thanks. Thought as much it was a scam. People like these should be locked up, there is also another in Vredehoek, do not fall victim.

  • Jacaranda 12 Feb 2013, 08:45 AM

    I also replied to a property on privateproperty and the guy send me the same email as above so i though to myself is sounds fishy lets google it and this is what i've found!! Thanks guys!

  • Capetonian 11 Feb 2013, 05:31 AM

    I have been in contact with the same person over the same email related to a property in Cape Town. Thanks for the heads up. Really disappointed to be taken advantage of like this.

Popular categories