OLX and junkmail

I am helping someone finding a car to buy.. So I have been looking at car on the junkmail and OLX webside.

I got this respons from one seller:


   My 2008 Ford Focus Titanium TDi is still for sale, has 64,000 kms,manual transmission. I'm a private seller and the final price price is R 34,950. The car is tidy and mechanically in good running condition, non smoker, always garaged, has never been involved in any accident it has no leaks or drips.
My brother owned this car, he lived in, South Africa. My brother died  two months ago in a motorcycle accident and now I'm the owner of the car but I decided to sell it. I also don't want to get rich on the death of my brother and also to bring the car here will cost me high import fees so that's so that's why I have lowered the price.I'm from Greece and is very difficult for me to get the car shipped here to my country so I chose to sell the car in South Africa.I'm not interested in any trades, only to sell it for cash! The car is priced for a fast sale, so it would be better if you don't need financing.
Please let me know where are you located and if you need anything else.

Thanks for your interest!

I thought this is to good to be true... So I told him that I will pay cash and a few safety request. Like meeting at testing grounds.
I knew he will have some story after this.
This is his story,

Hi again,

  I'm located in Greece and I can't make the sale in person because I'm not in South Africa. I chose to sell the car online using eBay Vehicle Purchase Program services to close the deal for our secure. First you need to make the payment to eBay by bank transfer and after this the delivery process will start and will take 2-4 days depending on your location. I've already prearranged the entire process with them. The car is located in Springbok in a hangar of eBay ready for delivery to my buyer address. I thought you might want to see the car, no worries because I'll grant you a 5 days inspection period, to test ride it starting the moment you receive it and before eBay releases the payment to me. I think this is more than fair for both of us. The payment will be handled by eBay Vehicle Purchase Program so if you are still interested to proceed further in this deal just email me your full name, your address as is stated in your ID, phone #, and delivery address if you want to get the car delivered to other place than your residence address. As soon as I get this information I will register you as my buyer with eBay Vehicle Purchase Program and they will send you the Invoice trough e-mail regarding the payment and delivery for our deal.

Here are pics with my car: http://s1298.photobucket.com/user/martinplank7/library/
Thanks for your understanding,

This 100000% a scam... be aware !!!!!!!!

Report ID: 4339
Crime Category: Fraud
Province: Gauteng
Suburb: Tuine
Address: email
Crime Date/Time: 15 Aug 2013, 00:08 AM
Reported By: Username4339
Reported Date: 16 Aug 2013, 14:08 PM
Related Link:

Join the conversation

  • Rosanna 18 Aug 2014, 04:00 PM

    I received the exact same email from Liam for an audi. Thanks for the heads up. Beware of these scams.

  • justice6 18 Aug 2014, 01:36 PM

    What a hell- I am communicating with a guy who claims to be in Potland after finding the same advert with the exact except that he is selling a 2005 VW Golf TDi. Thank goodness, this is all over as a scam. thanks guys, let me tell this guy to go to hell.

  • Kim2 18 Aug 2014, 09:24 AM

    Oh my word - saw this ad on gumtree for VW Golf, exact wording and transaction to be conducted by OLX Purchase Program. Good thing this came up in Google! Yikes!

  • Asanda 8 Jul 2014, 07:04 PM

    I also saw an add about red polo and the same words were used but this time the name of the seller is Liam Hale and she's located in Bulgaria. She even sent me this Olx invoice that can only be viewed in PC not phone. Thanks for heads up, I had some doubts about this but as desperate as I am for a new car, I was planning to go to the bank first thing tomorrow.

  • kgothatso2 28 Jun 2014, 02:02 AM

    This guy he thinks his smart and now his scaming people with the red polo with 59000km for R39000 and to see its a scam i negotiated the price to R25000 n he agreed and he uses the exact words as he was selling the ford...be carefull guys and buy what you see

  • Ntobeko2 24 Jun 2014, 10:44 AM

    I have just received a very similar offer for a VW Polo exact same wording except they used OLX Purchase Programs. I was looking for information to see if this was a scam or not. Thanks for the heads up.

Popular categories