Locanto Advertiser Fraudulant

On the 18th of November 2013, I send a message to an Coton De Tulear breeder in Upington that placed an advertisement on Locanto.  I asked whether he/she had any puppies available and was send a message through Locanto asking for my email address to enable them to send me more details and photo;s.  I did buy a puppy from this Marvin Arthur, 24 Butler Street, Upington 8800 in the Northern Cape. Phone No : 0719677078, Fax: 0862248296 email address: m.arthur1965@outlook.com.  An amount of R3650,00 was paid into his account (R3000.00 for the puppy and R650.00 for the transport to Tzaneen).  His bank account details: M.Arthur, Account Number 1364907648, Branch Code: 470010.  This morning I received an email and phone call from acompany called Post Animal Courier Services Reg: Ck 2012/124039/07.  The persons name Bryant Codi, contact nr 0837131034.  He said they needed a special crate to transport the puppy in and I will have to pay R3400.00 of which R3200.00 will be refunded upon delivery.  I called the Upington Airport (Airlink Cargo 054 331 2403), they did not have any knowledge of the puppy of the transport courier company. Neither did the veterinarian, Dr Lategan, (054 3326487 or 0827882448) in  Upington have any knowledge of this breeder. Can you please track down this people to help prevent any more people being scammed out of their money?Kind regardsAnnelize Osmers

Report ID: 5149
Crime Category: Fraud
Province: Limpopo
City/Town: Tzaneen
Suburb: Aquapark
Address: 24 Butler Street, Upington 8800 Northern Cape, South Africa
Crime Date/Time: 19 Nov 2013, 00:11 AM
Reported By: Username5149
Reported Date: 22 Nov 2013, 10:11 AM
Related Link: View

Join the conversation

  • Arnold3 19 Feb 2014, 11:22 AM

    Yip, also tried to buy a great dane puppy from a "Lisa Arnold" and "Pierre Arnold" breeders. Also got the courier invoice and realised something is up.

  • Username5149 25 Nov 2013, 07:18 PM

    I send a message this afternoon asking info on an advertisement placed in the JunkMail also for Coton De Tulear puppies - Marvin Arthur replied with exactly the same info he send me last week! He even send me a photo of the very same puppy he 'sold' me last week. I did go to the police with this last week and reported it to Capitec Bank where his bank account for payment is. They said they will hand it over to their Fraud Department. If we must RICA our cellphone nrs and bank accounts in this country the authorities must find a way to track him down. According to KUSA there is no registered Coton De Tulear breeders currently in the country - but a seller named Philip (petbreeders@gmail.com) responded to my email last week stating he has a 8 week old KUSA registered male puppy for sale. He even send me pictures of the puppy, called Ryan. He also advertises on JunkMail - his cellphone nr 0737741109. Thank you for your feedback.

  • Evan 25 Nov 2013, 06:29 PM

    Thanks for this. He is also selling "kittens" - the pictures of which are from websites overseas. Same details from his email: Marvin Arthur Address: 24 Butler Street, Upington 8800. Northern Cape, South Africa Phone : 0719677078 Fax: 0862248296 m.arthur1965@outlook.com His Gumtree ad states he is in Cape Town - obviously not, phone number false too. His ad 25/11/2013: http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-cats-kittens/devils-peak/small-cageless-home-of-persian-kittens/1001063109830910191887209

Popular categories