Puppy Scam

There are people advertising puppies for sale all over the internet. They will really let it sound as if all is in order. You will have to pay in the money for the puppy. Then, on the morning that the puppy must be transported, you will at the last minute be informed that you have to pay another 'refundable' amount (currently R3,500) for a special container needed to transport the puppy in. The purported breeder will be located at a fictitious address in some small rural town (where they know people won't go to the hassle of driving there to view or collect the puppy). 
This is a scam, with Nigerian people at the center of it (see below). Do not pay over any money - you won't see the puppy, or your money ever again!
In our case, the contact details used were:
0744979870 / volkanpuppies@gmail.com - "Andreas Volkan" in Barkley West. This number is used to advertise puppies all over the country, but every time with a different name. She even produces an ID and proof of residence, which is probably someone other's identity having been stolen.
0604788850 / skyanimalpost@post.com - "Bryant Cobi" supposedly from the courier company that will ship the puppy. He is Nigerian - you can hear it from his accent. Also, this very same number is also used to advertise puppies for sale all over the country, each time with a different name (why would a courier company be involved with dog breeding, unless they are in cahoots with each other?) He is unable to supply the name of his courier company, a tracking number, or produce an invoice for the amount that is to be paid.
These people are puppy scam operators. Avoid!

Report ID: 5974
Crime Category: Fraud
Province: KwaZulu/Natal
City/Town: Anmanzimtoti
Suburb: N/A
Address: All over South Africa
Crime Date/Time: 24 Mar 2014, 00:03 AM
Reported By: Username5974
Reported Date: 24 Mar 2014, 12:03 PM
Related Link:

Join the conversation

  • Elana2 16 Oct 2014, 10:07 AM

    Ek het amper 'n pragtige Bullmastiff hondjie gekoop as ek nie op hierdie website afgekom het nie. Baie, baie dankie aan almal wat al hier gepost het. Hulle adverteer op Locanto website. Chantal mastiffs,chantalmastiffs@gmail.com Hulle gebruik hierdie nommer 072 101 5431. 'n Ene Carlos wat 'n franse aksent het, het geantwoord. Jy kies jou hond en hulle vlieg die hond na jou toe. Hulle bly blykbaar in Kimberley.. Moet asb nie honde oor die internet koop wat jy nie fisies gesien het nie. Ek het amper R3450 verloor vandag.

  • Estelle11 20 Aug 2014, 03:10 PM

    I have just been scammed by these people. I bought a puppy from them and then the exact same thing we were contacted by a courier company who we had to pay more money to etc. I googled the email address and came up to this page. I'm so frustrated with myself.......feeling so stupid

  • Erika3 9 Jul 2014, 04:52 PM

    I have been scammed by these people today. Google searched "teacup maltese puppies" redirected to "Locanto" search engine. The "breeder" made contact via email. Everything goes down via email, payment made, my ID copy sent to them for verification when I collect the puppy at the airport. Got call and email from Skyanimalpost regarding certain crate that is needed to transport animal, asked to pay R3000 for crate, and then can collect the puppy from OR Thambo airport, given flight times and all. I got scammed, but the Lord do not sleep. They will be caught somewhere.

  • Nicole26 23 May 2014, 01:30 PM

    will say if I got the puppy, the puppt is supposed to be here in 2-3 hours

  • Nicole26 23 May 2014, 01:16 PM

    I have a problem I bought a Australian Shepard puppy from this person, this morning a Shines carrier person called, so I paind R3050 for a crate and injection to make the puppy sleep. What should I do?

  • Emmarencia 3 May 2014, 07:35 PM

    Welcome to a crowd of victims. Unfortunatly I paid over R4750 for two puppies. Needless to say it was money in the water.

  • from Zambia 9 Apr 2014, 11:08 AM

    Or phone number? I have more info!

  • from Zambia 9 Apr 2014, 10:47 AM

    Im not on bbm.. Can u send me an email ad?

  • Username5974 9 Apr 2014, 10:25 AM

    My BBM pin is 2AFA02D9. Obviously DO NOT pay over any money.

  • from Zambia 9 Apr 2014, 10:14 AM

    I'm about to purchase bullmastiff pups from Andreas. The same chap here mentioned. Let me know how i can help!! Fast. Email me. We're cominicating by email with the guy.

  • Username5974 8 Apr 2014, 01:07 PM

    Thanks for the research. Shout if you need help. I would LOVE to meet these people in person - I am not in the least bit scared (I am ex military SF and intelligence) and have some creative ideas for when I meet them. Regards. J.

  • Username6103 8 Apr 2014, 11:19 AM

    This person is still operating their scam. I have been in contact with Andreas Volkan wrt to a Bull Terrier pup. Andreas sent me a copy of her ID and Top TV account as proof of residence. Although she claims to be married a verification of her ID number says she is single. I checked with Google regarding the email address volkanpuppies@gmail.com and reported the account for fraud and phising. The gmail address is attached to a Google account but the profile photo is saved as 'Marika.jpeg' so I reverse search it using Google Images. The photo comes up for a Google account for Hester Kotze and also for a lady by the name of Mariska on a legitimate website. I left a message for Mariska to phone me back.

Popular categories